Info Center > Book of Revelation Study Notes >

Chapter 6: The Seven Seals on the Scroll

The Seven Seals on the Scroll-- The Book of Revelation, Chapter 6

Revelation Chapter 6 begins with the opening of the seven seals on the scroll. John is reporting what he sees to the reader. The scene in chapter 6 continues from the events in chapters 4 and 5.

In Chapter 4, John, caught up into heaven, saw God on his throne surrounded by the four living creatures (the angels), the 24 elders (all Christians), and all the angels of Heaven. In chapter 5, we see a scroll, which no one in heaven or on the Earth can open. Then a lamb appears on the center of the throne of God. He alone can take the scroll. Jesus Christ is represented as the slain lamb, which died for the sins of the world.

The scroll represents the title deed of the Earth-- the title deed our forefather, Adam, lost at the fall. In chapter 6, Jesus Christ the Lamb, has the seven-sealed scroll. When Christ opens the seals, events begin to occur on the earth as Christ takes possession of the earth from the kings of the earth. By opening the seven seals, events described in this chapter begin to unfold. The opening of the seventh seal brings the seven angels with seven trumpets who complete the judgments in the first half of the tribulation period.

In the book of Revelation, we see the judgments of God presented in three phases; seals, trumpets, and bowls. The 7 seals and 7 trumpet judgments occur in the first half of the tribulation period, the seven bowl judgments occur in the second half of the tribulation period. The two-halves of the tribulation period, are separated by a midpoint. The whole tribulation period is a seven-year period according to Daniel 9:27 and Revelation 11-13.

What Does Each of the Seven Seals Represent?


White Horse of the Apocalypse. When he comes, he is given a crown and he goes out bent on conquest. famine. pestilence and death from the sword, famine, plague and wild beasts and Hades follow it. 1/4 of the world's population die from the four horsemen. Martyrs begin dying during the Tribulation (The Antichrist begins his persecution of believers). earthquakes; sunlight ceases and the image of the solar disk goes from granular to woven; moon resembles blood;

7th Seal

(Rev. 8:1-6): represent the trumpets. As we will see, the seven trumpets in Rev. 8-9; 11:15-19) announce a series of plagues more severe than the seals, but not as devastating as the bowls (Rev. 16).

2nd Seal

3rd Seal

4th Seal

5th Seal

6th Seal



The image of the

The stars of the heaven fall to earth;

The sky rolls up;

Every mountain and island are dislodged;

The entire world population flees to caves, canyons, dens, and cliffs; and

The world population interprets the Sixth Seal events as signs for the beginning of the wrath of the Lamb (the Day of Wrath).

(Rev. 6:12-17):
(Rev. 6:9-11):
(Rev. 6:7-8): The Pale Horse causes
(Rev. 6:5-6): When the Black Horse comes, he causes severe
(Rev. 6:3-4): When the Red Horse comes, he is given a large sword and he takes peace from the world, causing men to kill each other. The Antichrist reveals his true war-like self.

1st Seal

(Rev. 6:1-2): The